Brief Update

I didn’t realise it had been so long since I last did a post on here!

I’ve been working hard on the Forced Exercise theory with the passive trainer and had some good results.

Passive Trainer pedals

Before I first started on it I was having following difficulties:

  • struggling to sit longer than an hour
  • getting high levels of back pain
  • struggling with control over arms due to increase in involuntary movement
  • struggling with balance,  standing transfers and using crutches for a few steps

After a year doing an intensive exercise routine (voluntary.. ie wii fit  arms and legs moving at their own speed) and Forced (moving faster than I would be able to move them)  I have had the following improvements

  • I can sit most of day in manual chair and now switching back to manual with powered drive wheels for better portability and to access buses/town etc.
  • significantly reduced back pain and core muscles are stronger for sitting/standing with no support behind me
  • a slight improvement in balance – enough to make using crutches for a few steps easier when transferring with human assistance into families houses from cars etc.
  • reduced muscle spasms from the dystonia element in arms
  • better gross motor control of arms (self propelling,  putting arms/legs into clothes, wii tennis etc)
  • an improvement in fine motor control (fastening buttons,  zips,  not quite got laces but getting there)
  • improved control for handwriting with both hands using Dexteria app for iPad (for improving Fine Motor Control).
  • improved function in grip,  working up to holding pen,  stylus better for drawing with uDraw and pencils,  brushes again.
  • using right hand to write with again!  (had bad writers cramp in it and had to re-learn to do signature with left hand)
  • using rollator more around house than powerchair,  either walking with it (still do better with it as a reverse walker – behind me) or sitting on seat and pushing myself from room to room with feet.

My other big project that I have started recently is I’m applying for a Dual Skilled Dog trained jointly by Hearing Dogs for the Deaf and Canine Partners to alert me to household sounds,  public fire alarms and help me with daily living skills and jobs around the house.

It is a very long process I’ve got application forms in with info but now many people who are been contacted by Canine Partners for info won’t do the reports without appointment to see them or pay them (GP’S!) , so things are been held up waiting for appointments so this information can be sent off,  so I doubt I will hear anything before the end of this year about how long the waiting list maybe.

Hopefully he/she will arrive before my current dog (age 11) is unable to manage helping me or goes deaf herself and can’t alert me to smoke alarm,  doorbell etc, but I may need to do some back up research and find another solution if its’s going to be many years.

could this little guy be my next assistance dog?

One thought on “Brief Update

  1. You are an inspiration sweetie. My 29 yr old daughter is recovering from TBI and has ataxia. I pray that she may have your motivation and drive to recover. God Bless you.
    Rebecca

Leave a Reply

